ASTRO announces 23 Fellow designations

By News Release
0  Votes

The American Society for Radiation Oncology has selected 23 distinguished members to receive the ASTRO Fellow designation. The 2017 class of Fellows will be recognized during the Awards Ceremony at ASTRO’s 59th Annual Meeting, Sept. 24-27 in San Diego.

The Fellows Program, started in 2006, honors those that have been an Active, Emeritus or International member of ASTRO for at least 15 years, have given the equivalent of 10 years of service to ASTRO and have made significant contributions to the field of radiation oncology in the areas of research, education, patient care or service and leadership. Including the 2017 class of Fellows, 292 of ASTRO’s more than 10,000 members worldwide have received the FASTRO designation.

“The impact that this group of dedicated individuals has had on the field of radiation oncology is immense,” says ASTRO Chair David C. Beyer, MD, FASTRO. “On behalf of ASTRO, I commend and thank these 23 outstanding physicians and medical physicists for their far-reaching contributions over the years—through research and patient care—to our specialty and the fight against cancer.”

Candidates must be nominated by a current ASTRO Fellow, accompanied by three letters of support from a selected subset of ASTRO members. A committee reviews all nominations and presents a slate to ASTRO’s Board of Directors for approval.

The 2017 Fellows are:

• Douglas W. Arthur, MD, Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond, Virginia

• Jeffrey D. Bradley, MD, Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis

• Kevin Camphausen, MD, Radiation Oncology Branch, National Cancer Institute in Bethesda, Maryland

• Hak Choy, MD, UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas

• Brian Czito, MD, Duke University in Durham, North Carolina

• Patricia Harrigan Hardenbergh, MD, Shaw Regional Cancer Center in Edwards, Colorado

• Eric M. Horwitz, MD, Fox Chase Cancer Center in Philadelphia

• Kenneth Shung Hu, MD, New York University Langone Medical Center in New York

• Peter Anthony Spencer Johnstone, MD, Moffitt Cancer Center in Tampa, Florida

• Jonathan P.S. Knisely, MD, Weill Cornell Medicine in New York

• Albert Koong, MD, PhD, Stanford University School of Medicine in Stanford, California

• John J. Kresl, MD, PhD, Phoenix CyberKnife and Radiation Oncology Center, Palo Verde Cancer  Specialists in Phoenix

• Nancy Lee, MD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in New York

• Simon S. Lo, MB, ChB, University of Washington School of Medicine in Seattle

• Richard D. Lovett, MD, University of Vermont College of Medicine in Burlington

• Alvaro Martinez, MD, 21st Century Oncology in Farmington Hills, Michigan

• Lorraine Portelance, MD, Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center, University of Miami in Miami

• George Rodrigues, MD, PhD, London Health Sciences Centre in London, Ontario

• Alphonse G. Taghian, MD, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston

• Bin S. Teh, MD, Houston Methodist Hospital, Cancer Center and Research Institute in Houston

• Wolfgang A. Tomé, PhD, Montefiore Medical Center/Albert Einstein College of Medicine in New York

• Frank A. Vicini, MD, 21st Century Oncology in Farmington Hills, Michigan

• Fang-Fang Yin, PhD, Duke University Medical Center in Durham, North Carolina

ASTRO’s 59th Annual Meeting, the nation’s premier scientific meeting in radiation oncology, is expected to attract more than 11,000 attendees from across the globe, including oncologists from all disciplines and members of the entire radiation oncology team.

Led by ASTRO President Brian D. Kavanagh, MD, FASTRO, the 2017 meeting’s theme is “The Healing Art and Science of Radiation Oncology,” and it will feature keynote addresses from Richard D. Zane, MD, chief innovation officer for the UCHealth System; Lucy Kalanithi, MD, the widow of Paul Kalanithi, MD, who wrote the bestselling memoir, “When Breath Becomes Air,” and Heather Wakelee, MD, Dr. Paul Kalanithi’s oncologist; and Vinay K. Prasad, MD, MPH, a hematologist-oncologist who co-wrote the book, “Ending Medical Reversal: Improving Outcomes, Saving Lives.”

The Presidential Symposium is in three parts: “The Scientific State of the Art,” “the Art of Quality” and “The Quality of Mercy.” These sessions will focus on cutting-edge science, measuring quality in radiation oncology and quality of life issues.

ASTRO’s four-day scientific meeting will feature more than 2,800 abstracts sharing results from clinical trials and other research studies, in conjunction with more than 50 educational sessions and 24 scientific panels. More than 200 exhibitors will demonstrate cutting-edge technology and medical device innovations for radiation oncology.

Back To Top

ASTRO announces 23 Fellow designations.  Appl Rad Oncol. 

By News Release| August 03, 2017
Categories:  Section

About the Author

News Release

News Release


Copyright © Anderson Publishing, Ltd

    Agility CMS